Election Day

Polls in Clay County will open at 7 a.m. Tuesday, June 2, and close at 7 p.m. If voting by absentee ballot, please return your ballot to the Auditor’s Office at the Clay County Courthouse in time for staff to check them into the voter registration system and transport them to the polling place prior to 7 p.m. on June 2nd to be processed by the precinct election board.

If voting in person on Tuesday, June 2, please visit the following locations, based on your ward:

Residents of Rural Ward 1, including Pleasant Valley, Garfield, Glenwood and Riverside townships, will vote at the Southeastern South Dakota Experimental Farm, located at 29974 University Road, Beresford.

Voters in Rural Ward 2, which includes Star and Bethel townships, the town of Wakonda and the town of Irene, will vote at the Gingrich-Dixon Post #13 Legion Hall, 101 Montana St., Wakonda.

Residents of Rural Ward 3 who reside in Prairie Center, Spirit Mound, Meckling, Norway, Vermillion and Fairview townships, will vote at the 4-H Center, 515 High St., Vermillion.

Residents of the City of Vermillion registered in the Central, Northeast, Northwest, and Southeast wards, will vote at the National Guard Armory, 603 Princeton St., Vermillion.

Voters with disabilities may contact the county auditor at (605) 677-7120 for information and special assistance in absentee voting or polling place accessibility.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.