To the Editor:

With all due respect to Grace Freeman’s letter to the editor (Nov. 18, 2022, issue) she doesn’t understand the legal requirements for dividing the state into legislative districts. Legislative districts are required by United States Supreme Court decision and by the South Dakota Constitution to have similar populations. None of the 66 counties in South Dakota are entitled to have their “own” legislators.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.