The Meets

The South Dakota track and field squad will split between three meets this weekend to kick off the outdoor season. The Coyotes will send athletes to the Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays (March 25-27) in Austin, Texas, the Bobcat Invitational (March 25-27) in San Marcos, Texas, and the Wildcat Classic (March 26-27) in Wayne, Nebraska.

The Coyotes

South Dakota kicks off its first outdoor season in two calendar years. This weekend marks the debut for graduate transfer Kamberlyn Lamer, the NAIA National Champion in the multievents, who starts off the competition at 10 a.m. Thursday in the heptathlon. She was one of four Coyotes named as Summit League Athletes to Watch for the outdoor season, a list that included All-American pole vaulter Eerik Haamer, distance runner Abrielle Jirele and thrower Jessie Sullivan. South Dakota will have six All-Americans competing in the Texas field – Haamer (pole vault), Ethan Bray (pole vault), Helen Falda (pole vault), Zack Anderson (high jump), Brithton Senior (hurdles), and Gen Hirata (pole vault).

The Competition

It's one of the first major weekends of the outdoor track and field season and the Coyotes will go toe-to-toe with the nation's elite at the 93rd running of the Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays. USD has 34 Coyotes competing at the relays, while also sending competitors to nearby San Marcos for the Bobcat Invitational as well. The Coyotes will also have a contingent competing locally at the Wayne State Wildcat Classic.

The Indoor Champions

South Dakota captured eight Summit League Indoor Championship titles in February.

Men's 60-meter Hurdles: Brithton Senior, 7.99 seconds

Women's 200 meters: Sara Reifenrath, 23.73 seconds

Women's 400 meters: Sara Reifenrath, 53.55 seconds

Men's High Jump: Jack Durst, 6-10 ¼ (2.09m)

Women's Pole Vault: Gen Hirata, 14-3 ¼ (4.35m)

Men's Pole Vault: Ethan Bray, 18-5 ½ (5.63m)

Women's Pentathlon: Holly Gerberding, 3,744 points

Women's 4x400 relay: Madison Jochum, Holly Gerberding, Danielle Thompson, Sara Reifenrath, 3:46.46

One Last Thing

South Dakota's had four champions at the Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays since it began sending athletes to the meet in 2012. They include two titles by Chris Nilsen (pole vault), one by Amber Eichkorn (5,000 meters) and one by Bethany Buell (pole vault).


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.