The Dak XII released their All-Conference selections after the 2019-2020 girls and boys basketball seasons concluded. Of the 11 teams in the conference, six Tanagers received recognition.

Junior guard Lexi Plitzuweit was named first-team All-Conference. Senior guard Lexi Saunders and junior guard Shandie Ludwig were Dak XII honorable mentions.

The trio started in all 22 games played this season and averaged the most minutes and points per game. Plitzuweit played an average of 28.1 minutes per game, Saunders averaged 27.8, and Ludwig 24.0 minutes. Plitzuweit averaged 16.6 points per game, Saunders averaged 9.6, and Ludwig 5.6. The three also tallied the most steals for Vermillion.

Junior guard/forward Dylan Gestring was named second-team All-Conference for the boys. Junior guard Jakob Dobney was third-team All-Conference, and senior guard Sam Ward was named Dak XII honorable mention.

These three averaged the most minutes per game for the Tanagers. Ward averaged 25.9 minutes per game, Gestring averaged 25.3, and Dobney 23.9. They were also some of the leading scorers as Gestring averaged 15.2 points per game, Dobney averaged 13.7, and Ward 6.4.

2020 Dakota XII Girls Basketball Selections

Dak XII Most Valuable Player – Madysen Vlastuin (Sr.), Lennox

First Team – Bailey Conrad (Sr.), Tea Area; Rianna Fillipi (Sr.), Lennox; Lexi Plitzuweit (Jr.), Vermillion; Olivia Ritter (Jr.), Tea Area; Rylee Rosenquist (So.), Dakota Valley; Madysen Vlastuin (Sr.), Lennox

Second Team – Riley Donnelly (Sr.), Elk Point-Jefferson; Rylee Haldeman (So.), West Central; Kendra Leighton (Sr.), Madison; Cassidy Siemonsma (Jr.), West Central; Tabor Teel (So.), Tri-Valley; Lauren Tims (Sr.), Sioux Falls Christian

Third Team – Maddie DeJong (Jr.), Sioux Falls Christian; Aspen Hansen (Sr.), Dell Rapids; Paige Jewett (So.), Tri-Valley; Cheyanne Masterson (Sr.), West Central; Rachel Rosenquist (Jr.), Dakota Valley; Grace Steineke (Sr.), Tri-Valley

Honorable Mention – Mara Hinker (Jr.), Lennox; Isabel Ihnen (Sr.), Lennox; Josslin Jarding (So.), West Central; Lily Kempf (Sr.), Elk Point-Jefferson; Shandie Ludwig (Jr.), Vermillion; Desirae Patzwald (Sr.), Tea Area; Lexi Saunders (Sr.), Vermillion; Paige Schroedermeier (Jr.), Canton; Briana Steuerwald (Sr.), Madison; Morgan Tritz (Sr.), Dakota Valley

2020 Dakota XII Boys Basketball Selections

Dak XII Most Valuable Player – Paul Bruns (Jr.), Dakota Valley

First Team – Josh Arlt (Sr.), Lennox; Paul Bruns (Jr.), Dakota Valley; Tyler Tappe (Sr.), Madison; Drew VanRegenmorter (Sr.), Dell Rapids; Kayden Verley (Sr.), Canton; Zach Witte (Sr.), Sioux Falls Christian

Second Team – Isaac Bruns (Fr.), Dakota Valley; Will Daugherty (Sr.), Lennox; Dillon Gestring (Jr.), Vermillion; Cael Lundin (So.), Tea Area; Colin Rentz (Jr.), Dell Rapids; Noah Van Donkersgoed (Jr.), Sioux Falls Christian

Third Team – Cody Brown (Sr.), Madison; Jakob Dobney (Jr.), Vermillion; Adam Grashoff (Sr.), Elk Point-Jefferson; Riley Haynes (Jr.), Tri-Valley; Garrett Kolbeck (Jr.), Tea Area; Tyler Prins (Jr.), Sioux Falls Christian

Honorable Mention – Kasan Abedi (Jr.), West Central; Derek Eidsness (Jr.), West Central; Logan Ellingson (Sr.), Dell Rapids; Ramsey Heinecke (Sr.), Dell Rapids; Kaleb Johnson (Sr.), Lennox; Chase Montagne (Jr.), Dakota Valley; Xavier Van Beek (Jr.), Sioux Falls Christian; Sam Ward (Sr.), Vermillion


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.